Titles of the Buddha


The following are the usual 10 epithets ascribed to the Buddha in Pali.


1. tathāgata 




2. arahaṃ (Skt: Arhat)




3. saṁmāsaṁbuddha (Skt: samyaksaṁbuddha)




4. vijjā caraṇasaṃpanna (Skt: vidyā caraṇasaṃpanna)




5. sugata




6. lokavidū (Skt: lokavid )





7. anuttara (Skt: Anuttara(




8. purisadaṃmasārathī (Skt: puruṣadamyasārathī ) 




9. satthā devamanussānaṃ (Skt: śāstā devamanuṣyāṇam )




10. buddho bhagavā (Skt: buddha bhagavan)


2 thoughts on “Titles of the Buddha

  1. Hello Vinodh,

    I came across your blog while searching for specific fonts. I was wondering if you could help me find the mantra “पूर्णमदः पूर्णमिदम् पूर्णात् पूर्णमुदच्यते |पूर्णस्य पूर्णमादाय पूर्णमेवावशिष्यते ||” in Siddham, Brahmi and Sharda scripts.

    Thank you.

  2. Hello Vinodh,

    I have scoured the internet looking for a translation of the “three characteristics or marks of existence” into Ashokan / Asokan or pre Ashokan Brahmi.

    I ideally would love to see the three rendered in early Tamil Brahmi, Ashokan, and Mauryan styles, but I don’t expect that gift to happen.

    I know you already have Dukkha listed on your site (thank you very much) maybe you could add the below verse from the Dhammapada to your site? Please.

    At its core I am yet looking for Anicca and Anatta to be rendered in Brahmi. If you want to avoid additional postings to your site then I can also work with these two words expressed in Unicode. Please include the codes for the (additions to the root characters) so that I can render them correctly.

    As I am a mono lingua American I am unable to you’re your Tamil to Brahmi translator tool.

    Thank you again and I am hopeful that one of the very smart and generious souls who have worked with you listed on your site can help me.

    Vinodh Rajan
    Shriramana Sharma
    Udhaya Sankar



    The three marks of existence are three characteristics (Pali: tilakkhaṇa; Sanskrit: trilakṣaṇa) shared by all sentient beings, namely impermanence (anicca), dissatisfaction or suffering (dukkha), and non-self (anattā). These three characteristics are mentioned in verses 277, 278 and 279 of the Dhammapada.

    The three marks are:[1]

    1.sabbe saṅkhāra aniccā — “all saṅkhāras (conditioned things) are impermanent”
    2.sabbe saṅkhāra dukkhā — “all saṅkhāras are unsatisfactory”
    3.sabbe dhammā anattā — “all dhammas (conditioned or unconditioned things) are not self”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *